Cebu road project to cut old trees

Remarkable and graceful century-old trees lining around the southern roads bounding Carcar and Naga are threatened of being cut to pave the way for a road widening construction project of the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH).


Carcar Mayor Nicepuro Apura told the Philippine Daily Inquirer that while he didn’t want the trees to be cut, he would not also stand in the way of the project since the roads would help in Carcar’s development.
He said at least 33 trees would be subjected for removal. One of these is a century-old narra tree and the rest are acacia trees. 


When I was a little girl, we used to travel South a lot to visit my grandparents who were still both alive that time. I had always admired the splendor of the antique acacia trees that form a graceful umbrella-shaped shade. I used to find travelling south very tedious and tiring, but those trees made travel less agonizing . At seventeen, those trees were one of my prospects for my future photograph masterpiece when I get a DSLR. When I turn eighteen, I ask for a DSLR as a gift. I might get them, but I might never get that photograph.

Now they’re cutting those trees? They’re cutting, too those precious memories of my childhood, of me watching with glee the canopy of acacias. They’re also cutting my dream of getting a  perfect photograph of those trees with my DSLR.  


You know what I see in this?

I see a fine example of our country’s negligence towards our culture and environment, a country so desperate for modernization and industrialization that they’d be willing to throw away a hundred-years of heritage. 


I learned before that development is not measured by the GDP, or the height of the buildings or the width of the roads. Development is an integral growth of all the aspects whether political, social, spiritual, economical, environmental or cultural. The government should bear in mind that when they aspire for development, they shouldn’t compromise the other aspects to enhance only one.
One thought on “Cebu road project to cut old trees

  1. >This is what's wrong with the country. We strive so hard to succeed but people refuse change. I'm not saying cutting those trees is right but we need to find a balance to be able to move forward be globally competitive.

Leave a Reply

