Papa Kit’s Marina and Fishing Lagoon: Fishing, First Time for Miko, Darrel and Me

“Do not give him fish. Teach him how to fish.”

After riding the Zipline, we wanted to go horseback riding but we didn’t bring enough money with us and it was a fifty pesos per head for ten minutes, so we decided to go fishing instead.

We rented old fishing rods, the ones that do not have a pulley, for thirty pesos. We bought the bait for ten pesos. It was a sticky dough with bits of what I thought were chocolate chips, but were actually fish food.

Here we are holding our rods, excited to catch some fish.
I had told Miko and Darrel that the first person to ever a catch a fish will be declared winner.
The chronicles of how we caught our first fish was funny. It began with our unyielding attempts of throwing our baits and hoping for a fish to just fall for it. When I felt my rod shake, I thought that the fish had taken my bait and I swung my rod too high that the hook soared up to the cottage roof and ended being tangled there. It got stuck there for awhile until the man in charge helped me unhooked it. Another blooper of mine was when I accidentally sat on the fish bait.  (@left: the dough/bait flattened by me sitting on it)
I endured the hot sun just to catch fish.
Our dough was running out and the number of fish we caught? Zero. We transferred to another location and were consumed by impatience upon seeing other people, even children caught fish. More than an hour had passed and we were still fish-less. We decided to buy more dough and follow the man’s advice that we buy fish feeds to lure the fish.
So, we had the feeds and the bait. We lured the fish with fish feeds and they gathered around the spot where we threw food hungrily. I think we waited a bit longer before Miko finally caught his first fish. A flicker of hope was ignited in my heart and Darrel’s. The first catch also ignited my competitive streak. I felt so determined to catch a fish myself.
But first and foremost, we panicked. The fish was prancing and jumping and tossing itself like most fishes do when they are out of the water. When the fish weakened, I ignored Miko’s plea for help (since he didn’t know what to do with the fish he caught and he wanted to fish some more). I was so determined not to be last.
Miko’s first fish

Finally, I felt a tug in my rod and that time, it wasn’t a false alarm. A fish had been hooked to my rod and I pulled my rod back to myself. Then panic hit me again and I didn’t know what I did, but the fish I caught got unfastened from the hook and it fell to the sandy floor shaking and flapping its fins and tail. I panicked because I was afraid that the fish will fall back into the water again. I didn’t want to lose my first fish. So what I did? I strapped my fish to the ground with my fishing rod and it stirred some more, so Miko helped me up (though, he was also preoccupied with his fish). The fish was resilient and stubborn. So I whacked it with my fishing rod. The rod was like my baseball bat and my target was the fish. It was like a game of whack-the-mole and everytime the fish stirred, I let out a yelp of fear plus excitement. (Poor fishy. I was so violent to it. I didn’t mean to, though. Apparently, I was stricken with trepidation at the possibility of fish’s escape.)

My first fish: That’s how Miko and I pinned the fish to the ground.

Worse was when people tried to pass through this aisle and my rod still was pinned on the little fish; thus blocking their way. Embarrassed as I was for clearly demonstrating my noobness in fishing, I’d smile to the passerbys, lower my fishing rod to the ground and tell them, ‘Agi lang mo.’ (You may pass.)

In a short while, Darrel, too caught a fish.The three of us rejoiced for having caught our first fish. It was a big achievement for us first-timers.

Darrel’s first fish

After that, we seemed to be in a roll. We caught more fish. Miko ended up catching five. I caught three before I declared finishing second place after Miko and pitied Darrel for having caught only two. So, I gave her a chance. While Miko and I were tying the strings to our rod, readying it for returning, Darrel waited a few more minutes before catching his third fish.

In the end, we  all had caught eleven fish. I had caught three, Miko five and Darrel three. All in all, it weighed 2 kilos and we were even complimented for having caught huge fish (except the little one that I had pinned to the ground. Yes, that was the smallest, but the most stubborn.) Well,  it was all just sheer beginner’s luck.

I would never forget this day: the smiles painted on our faces when we caught our first fish, the scream I let out when my fish fell from the hook to the sandy ground, Darrel’s hopeful gaze at her rod when she wanted to catch up with us and the arrogance Miko displayed for having caught the most fish.

We smell fishy after, but it’s okay. We had fun and we learned.

PS: Oh yeah, after everything that night, before we ate dinner and drive back home, we played this Ninja game.

You make ninja poses and try to hit the hands of the person beside you. You take turns moving.


One thought on “Papa Kit’s Marina and Fishing Lagoon: Fishing, First Time for Miko, Darrel and Me

  1. Pingback: My Summer Evaluation | Cogitations and Snapshots

Leave a Reply

