A Soliloquy on Death

>I never thought about death. I never imagined myself laid in a coffin, how I’d look like or what dress I’m going to wear. I don’t think other people imagine their deaths, too. Sure, you imagine how your wedding day, what you’re going to wear that day , who you’re going to invite to the wedding and what song you’re going to play as you march down the aisle, but nobody daydreams of how they’re going to die or where they’re going to get buried or who they’re going to invite to their funeral or what song should be played during the burial ceremony. Nobody does that because everyone, even those suicidal are afraid of death.

Why is my topic so grim tonight?

Let me tell you about ‘Tata’. He’s our neighbor, a good and hardworking father of eight young children. The eldest had just graduated high school. Tata works as our security guard doing day shifts. I always come across him every morning as he opens the gate for me when I do my early jogging. Every time I pass by the guard house, I’d always smile at him or greet him ‘Good morning’. So you can imagine the surprise when my father announced that he kicked the bucket.

Yesterday, April 12, 2011, early morning, Tata suffered what my father said was an ‘asthma’ attack. It was even our family driver who tried to save him and rush him to the hospital, but to no avail, he had already gone.

I have no personal attachments to Tata but I knew him personally. I’m not very much affected by his death. His death, however, made me contemplate about the loved ones he is going to leave behind. His wife is unemployed and he has eight young children. None of them has finished college yet and the youngest is still two years old. I can’t help think about the future of those little kids. How they’re going to be able to focus on their education when some of them (the older kids) have to work in order to support their family of nine.  How they’re going to manage that even with Tata alive, they were still having difficulties.

I still cannot fathom Tata’s death. It’s all too sudden. It’s all too quick. It gets me thinking, that death will come unexpectedly as the Scriptures have repeatedly warned us.

If Death is that inescapable but natural force, I wonder why it is even taboo. I wonder why people always say “Simba ko lang,” or “God forbid” whenever death is mentioned. I know that death is such a horrible idea. It is why people frown upon it and have chills run down their spines whenever it is brought up, but human as we are, we all die. We have to accept that fact and live our lives to the fullest at the same time fulfilling and obeying the Lord’s commandments, so that when it is time for us to cross the other side, we’ll have no regrets. And we’ll rejoin our Father in heaven and live happily ever after.

I hope Tata will rest in peace. He was a good man, a good neighbor, a good husband and a good father. Bless his wife and kids, that they will be able to move on and stand up on their own.

2 thoughts on “A Soliloquy on Death

  1. >beautiful post, i totally can relate to this. i had a neighbor, but we weren't really close, i could only greet him and stuff like that. when my dad told me he passed away, i started to think of the children he left (three sons, the youngest was 3 years old), his wife and everything… what chocked me the most was the way he died: he was murdered. it may sound irrelevant to some people, but it's still stuck in my head like it happened to someone really close to me.

Leave a Reply

